Commodity Origins

Vale: the mines it operates or owns, and what they report

Vale is a listed company headquartered in Brazil (New York Stock Exchange: VALE (American depositary shares)). This site lists 13 operations tied to it, for iron ore and nickel: it operates 12 and holds an interest in 1 more. On the operations here where a whole-operation figure can be stated (in metal content, or as the commodity page says for ore and smelted metal), its interests add up to about 308,612,800 tonnes of iron ore as ore, not iron content (12% of world output) and 23,500 tonnes of nickel (0.6% of world output). That leaves out operations without such a figure, so it is not the company's total.

Its operations on this site

Operations of Vale
OperationCommodity and countryRoleInterestWhole-operation outputShare of world output
Serra Sul (S11D), Carajas
open-pit mine
iron ore
Brazil
Operator100%
as of 31 December 2025
86 million metric tons (Mt), as printed in the 20-F iron ore production table; run-of-mine and feed for pelletizing plants; wet or dry not stated
CY2025
3.3%
Serra Norte, Carajas
open-pit mine
iron ore
Brazil
Operator100%
as of 31 December 2025
78.1 million metric tons (Mt), as printed in the 20-F iron ore production table; run-of-mine and feed for pelletizing plants; wet or dry not stated
CY2025
3%
Vargem Grande complex
open-pit mine
iron ore
Brazil
Operator100%
as of 31 December 2025
36 million metric tons (Mt), as printed in the 20-F iron ore production table; run-of-mine and feed for pelletizing plants; wet or dry not stated
CY2025
1.4%
Minas Centrais complex
open-pit mine
iron ore
Brazil
Operator100%
as of 31 December 2025
30.2 million metric tons (Mt), as printed in the 20-F iron ore production table; run-of-mine and feed for pelletizing plants; wet or dry not stated
CY2025
1.2%
Mariana complex
open-pit mine
iron ore
Brazil
Operator100%
as of 31 December 2025
28.4 million metric tons (Mt), as printed in the 20-F iron ore production table; run-of-mine and feed for pelletizing plants; wet or dry not stated
CY2025
1.1%
Itabira complex
open-pit mine
iron ore
Brazil
Operator100%
as of 31 December 2025
25.2 million metric tons (Mt), as printed in the 20-F iron ore production table; run-of-mine and feed for pelletizing plants; wet or dry not stated
CY2025
1%
Minas-Rio
integrated mine and processing complex
iron ore
Brazil
Owner15%
as of 31 December 2025
24,752 thousand tonnes ('000 t), pellet feed, wet metric tonnes
CY2025
1%
Onça Puma
laterite ore smelting plant
nickel
Brazil
Operator90%
as of 27 March 2026
26,100 t of nickel
CY2025, whole operation
0.7%
Paraopeba complex
open-pit mine
iron ore
Brazil
Operator100%
as of 31 December 2025
15 million metric tons (Mt), as printed in the 20-F iron ore production table; run-of-mine and feed for pelletizing plants; wet or dry not stated
CY2025
0.6%
Serra Leste, Carajas
open-pit mine
iron ore
Brazil
Operator100%
as of 31 December 2025
6 million metric tons (Mt), as printed in the 20-F iron ore production table; run-of-mine and feed for pelletizing plants; wet or dry not stated
CY2025
0.2%
Sudbury (Vale)
sulphide mine
nickel
Canada
Operator90%
as of 27 March 2026
35.3 thousand metric tons contained nickel, finished production by ore source
CY2025
—
Thompson (Vale)
sulphide mine
nickel
Canada
Operator90%
as of 27 March 2026
12.0 thousand metric tons contained nickel, finished production by ore source
CY2025, as reported by Vale
—
Voisey's Bay (Vale)
sulphide mine
nickel
Canada
Operator90%
as of 27 March 2026
33.1 thousand metric tons contained nickel, finished production by ore source
CY2025, as reported by Vale
—

How much is that on its interests?

Computed as each operation's whole-operation output in metal content, or as ore or smelted metal where the commodity is measured that way, multiplied by the interest shown. Operations whose output is stated in another form, or only as the owner's share, are left out of this sum, so it understates what the company controls.

Sources

The corporate facts above (headquarters, type, listing) come from the sources listed; no stock prices, valuations or executives are shown. Ownership and output are on the date and period stated on each operation's page. The list covers operations with a published figure for the commodities on this site, so it is not the company's full portfolio.

Made with AI assistance and checked against the sources by a second, independent pass; no professional review took place. How the site is made. To report an error, contact us.